Bug Fixes

If you are stuck in the Dunan Unification Wars; or wish for more details on the gameplay systems, this is the place.
User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby Pyriel » Sun Dec 22, 2019 10:49 am

Yeah, that's long since fixed in the latest patch. Just download it from the Git repository.

User avatar
faospark
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:09 am

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby faospark » Wed Apr 29, 2020 10:24 pm

Not really a bug fix request. but is there a way that we can make Tessai be recruitable as earlier like before liberation of greenhill. I has always bothered me all these years that the Smithsman In Kuskus has helped me more in the journey than Tessai.

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby Pyriel » Thu Apr 30, 2020 3:58 pm

Doesn't Tessai start off hanging around in Greenhill until it's liberated, and then he shifts to Kuskus?

It might not be impossible. The main issue I see is that the scripts will be in multiple files, and it could be a trick to make it not seem sequence-breaking, given that we can't really add flags or anything.

psychedelist
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2018 1:45 pm

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby psychedelist » Thu Apr 30, 2020 4:25 pm

I did it in my project. I even believe they intended to make him recruitable early since there is a check for castle level 2 as a condition for his appearance, and you get the first hammer in Forest Village. But someone added that stupid story flag check that relates to the late Greenhill events. So i removed it, modified the script only in one file, haven't run into issues. I don't remember seeing him in Greenhill, but even if he's there, it's a small nuisance compared to having to run to Kuskus all the time and the hammer progression being meaningless.

Edit: first hammer is in Forest Village, second one is in Gregminster, both are way before you can recruit him.
Last edited by psychedelist on Sat May 02, 2020 4:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby Pyriel » Fri May 01, 2020 8:07 pm

Yeah, I think you can actually get two of the hammers before you have the opportunity to recruit him. Although, the second one might only come before if you're doing an optimal route for it. I don't fully remember offhand. Anyway, it's always seemed reasonable that he was bumped to later than originally intended.

I'll have to look through an LP or something. I know there's a student who mentions him in Greenhill, and I could swear he pops up there at some point early on. It might only be if you visit the first time you go to Muse with Jowy or something like that. I'm not above doing it, if only as a cheat. However, if it has to add sequence-breaking, my inclination is to just supply a code that allows it. That would be kind of doofy, though, since you could just poke the recruit flags with existing codes when you feel like having him.

User avatar
faospark
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:09 am

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby faospark » Sun May 24, 2020 8:03 pm

A code would be good. While doing the Matilda Glitch Early as pre- Mercenary fort Attack and post Mercenary fort attack. It's Jude that Hangs around Greenhil and Not Tessai. Actually Tessai does not hang around greenhill at all rather his student who holds the hammer starts referencing him When Jude is not around. probably the developers were somewhat confused with Jude and Tessai because both are wearing a blue outfit. clearly the classroom is about forging weapons and not sculpting.

Also the way we recruit Tessai Requires Viktor and Zodiac Sword. i feel like he was intended to be recruited on castle level 2 post liberation of north Window castle.
While in contrast to Jude, it makes sense that you recruit him later on because in the guardian deity banter when you first make one Chaco, Ridley, Teresa, Viki are present there. Tessai is not though.

User avatar
faospark
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:09 am

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby faospark » Tue May 26, 2020 8:56 pm

addendum info:
the earliest hammer to be acquired Iron Hammer found on the forest village after initially rescuing Teresa.
the sad part is by the time you are about to go to matilda the blacksmith on kuskus can level up your weapons up to 11 rendering iron hammer to be rather obsolete
same goes for the copper hammer when you reach gregminster.

Sketcz
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 3:18 am

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby Sketcz » Wed May 27, 2020 3:25 am

EDIT:

Never mind. Turned out the problem was this:

I would type the name of the new image and it's location in the bottom bar, rather than clicking on the browse button. Once I used the browse button it worked. Kinda weird, but I shall be testing the newly created file shortly.

I registered just to ask this, but...

I am trying to use the Suikoden 2 patcher on the NTSC-U (American) version and it's not working. I'm using a verified dump of the game, in BIN format, and it refuses to patch. I select the patches I want included (all of them), click patch, and then it just hangs forever saying "Verifying Disc". It never moves beyond this, the bar never fills.

Any idea what's wrong?

Also, there's a weird bug with the patcher I found. My folder which I put it and the game in was called "Suikoden II (USA)" and it kept crashing on start up. For reasons I can't even comprehend the existence of brackets () in the file of the folder causes it to crash on start up. Removing the brackets fixed this.

So... How do I get it to move beyond verifying the disc??

Many thanks for your time.

EDIT:

Also, why is there no ReadMe with the patch giving instruction or a FAQ? Because I'm having to fumble my way through without instructions. :(

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby Pyriel » Wed May 27, 2020 10:42 am

What did you download?

The latest version of the patch, for ages, has been here: https://github.com/pyriell/gs2-bugfixes. If you downloaded it off this website, sorry about that. I lost my access to update it ages ago, and just never got around to requesting the security details again. The archive stored here is about 5-10 version behind at this point.

I deliberately made the text boxes for the file paths read-only because the Lua library required for handling PS1 CDs comes with a dodgy file access library that always hangs when you try to access a path that doesn't exist. One character off, and even trying to hit the file just to see if it's actually there causes the process to hang. There's nothing I can do about it unless I want to rewrite the entire low-level library for handling disc images.

densagara
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:42 am

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby densagara » Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:54 am

I saw this forum while I was trying to figure out how to fix my suikoden 2 game. It keeps crashing while I'm at Gregminster. I saw the notes mention this was fixed in the German version, but I'm playing the US version. And that bug seems to involve you trying to pick between the two women. I think my game's already past that part so this might be a different bug.

As soon as I get both Valeria/Kasumi and Sheena, and they try to get into my party, the game instantly crashes. It's possible that this is because I put Sheena in convoy, rather than the actual party. I don't know how to fix this, and I have no saves before getting Sheena into my party the first time.

Hopefully this bug can be fixed. I'm not ready to replay the entire game just to get past this part just yet.

User avatar
Pyriel
Webmaster
Posts: 1058
Joined: Wed Aug 18, 2004 1:20 pm

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby Pyriel » Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:43 am

I want to say I vaguely recall hearing something like that, but I've heard so many tales, both apocryphal and very real, that I'm probably jumbling up several bug complaints.

User avatar
faospark
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:09 am

Re: Bug Fixes

Postby faospark » Sun Apr 11, 2021 2:04 am

just discovered this because im doing some retexturing on the game... in the after battle menu when stats are being flashed MDF is not actually flashed instead also MAG eventhough the game has a texture for MDF.


Return to “Suikoden II”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests