Some good RPGs that don't belong to a franchise

A forum for non-Suikoden games.
Lemmy Claypool

Some good RPGs that don't belong to a franchise

Post by Lemmy Claypool »

In my ever-expanding quest for RPGs, these kinds of games are always the hardest to uncover if you aren't already aware of them to some extent. I thought I had a pretty good grasp on the scene regardless until I literally just found out about Rogue Galaxy, which was apparently a pretty big deal that I'd never even heard of before.

So now I'm wondering if any of you can recommend, or would simply like to discuss, any great standalone RPGs that are yet to receive a sequel, prequel or spinoff.

I'm mostly talking about the PSX/PS2 eras, as they seem to have the biggest selections of lesser-known RPGs (RPGs in general I guess) but I'm interested in hearing about/discussing any.

To get the ball rolling, I recently started playing Lost Odyssey for the first time and I'm pretty impressed with it so far (I think I'm about 3/4 of the way through Disc 1). It seems very much like it could have been the next Final Fantasy after X I think. Feels to me like a bit of a spiritual successor. I also love reading Kaim's memories; these are a novel idea (no pun intended) and are very well written. A great relaxing excursion from the main game.

I also played the first 5 minutes of Enchanted Arms on Friday night and the battle system really seems like something I could get on with. Reminds me of Koudelka, which is never a bad thing. I had intended to play more but I fell asleep. Controller in hand, game still playing, sat bolt upright - fast asleep. Not a reflection on the game mind, I had just had a frightfully busy week.
Hirathien

Re: Some good RPGs that don't belong to a franchise

Post by Hirathien »