Silent main character?

Ask any questions about the gameplay system within the Island Nation Wars here.
Geddoe825

Silent main character?

Post by Geddoe825 »

I just started playing this game for the first time through two days ago. i have just been exiled from the main island. (Razril i think) and still the main character doesnt talk...... does he ever talk throughout the whole game? (other than the dialogue choices that appear and you get to choose.) please tell me it is at least like FFX where you can name the main character, but they never say his name.... the gameplay seems different, but acceptable, the most disturbing thing thus far is the fact he doesn't talk or give any opinion what so ever... well sorry for the long post for such a simple ?question?
Oppenheimer
Global Admin

Post by Oppenheimer »

No, he doesn't talk. He's a silent protagonist. The main characters in Suikoden I and II didn't speak either but this was changed for Suikoden III. Many people think that gamers have grown out of a silent protagonist and level this as a criticism against Suikoden IV.
Seltaeb

Post by Seltaeb »

no the main character will never talk. and yes you get to name him. the only reason they dont say his name is because the game is only programed to say certain things. and since you pick the name its not programed to say whatever you picked. well thats what i beleive.
Mr. Geddoe

Post by Mr. Geddoe »

What is expected from a 'silent' hero is so that we can 'colorize' him wherever we want. We can transform him to a cold soldier, cheerful bastard, to a pervert :lol:

But S4 did NOT give this opportunity. At least I can point out Legaia 2 as a good example; and no, FFX is a BAD example. Tidus HAS personality, he's not blank, it's only that they never mentioned his name.

The key is LOTSA PROMPTS. Like the one with Cray, that's good.
Only fools seek victory with courage, the so-called 'power of love', or another poetry and dramatic scenes.