Rune of Punishment

Hypothesis for, and analyses of, the various locations and backstory of the Suikoden world.
cool_sei

Rune of Punishment

Post by cool_sei »

I'm not sure if I'm on the right place to talk about RoP..

I guess I'm the only one who think that Rune of Punishment shouldn't be called Rune of Punishment.
Why? Well, I guess I have to explain right.. I'm not good at explaining.. FYI...

Not called RoP? Then what??
First of, I believe, in my opinion, RoP should be called Rune of Judgement (RoJ) instead of RoP.
When I look at it, the term for 'punishment' is a bad thing-mostly. RoP have two phases like the rest.
In this case, it is atonement and forgiveness. I just thought that forgiveness is not a bad thing.

Why 'Judgement'?
Well, it is like the RoP is the judge and the rune will pass the verdict, guilty(atonement) or not guilty(forgiveness).
Get the idea? The rune is passing judgement. That why I thought it should be called RoJ instead of RoP.

I'm not sure if I manage to explain it right. This is just something like feedback. Just thinking.. so I thought maybe I would
share it...
"I DeRivE mY hApPineSs fr0m mY pAsT. . .
MaNy taLes HavE yEt t0 bE toLd. . ."
Icegryphon
Banned User

Re: Rune of Punishment

Post by Icegryphon »

I disagree. It's not a guilty/not guilty verdict. First you atone, then you're forgiven. You can't be forgiven until you atone.

And I don't think judgment would be right. Punishment kinda fits because as punishment you must atone and then be forgiven. It doesn't fit perfectly but fits enough, especially since the first stage (atonement) was never passed except by the assumed current bearer, Lazlo. He's the first to get to forgiveness...that we know of.
"You got whacked because you're weak." - Magus
JanusThePaladin

Post by JanusThePaladin »